How Long is the Waiting Period for WC Benefits in FL?
Our Pasco County workers’ compensation attorney explains waiting periods and time limits associated with workers’ compensation claims in Florida.
Accidental injuries and occupational illnesses that occur either on the job or as a direct result of your employment can leave you unable to work for long periods while incurring significant medical costs. Fortunately, workers’ compensation benefits in Florida can help offset your expenses and provide a steady income for you and your family. Our Pasco County workers’ compensation attorneys explain time limits for filing a claim and standard waiting periods you can expect prior to receiving your benefits.
Filing a Workers’ Compensation Claim in Pasco County
When any type of on-the-job accident happens or you are diagnosed with an illness caused by your job or conditions in your work environment, it is important to report it to your employer as soon as possible. You may be entitled to file a workers’ compensation claim. However, under the Florida Statutes, you only have thirty days to notify your employer of your condition.
The 30-day time period applies from the date at which you suffered work-related injuries or from the date you were first diagnosed with an occupational illness. Failure to notify your employer within this time frame could result in an immediate denial of benefits. Rather than taking any chances, our Pasco County workers’ compensation attorney recommends taking the following actions:
- Notify your employer or supervisor immediately of injuries or illnesses and make sure an accident or incident report is filed.
- Seek medical attention right away, get a firm diagnosis, and make sure your doctor records that your condition is job-related.
- Get the names of any co-workers who can act as witnesses in your claim.
- Follow up with your employer within several weeks to ensure a workers’ compensation claim is filed.
- Respond promptly to any communications you receive from workers’ compensation.
Waiting Periods for Workers’ Compensation Benefits
Reporting your injury or illness immediately, getting prompt medical care, making sure your claim is filed by your employer, and responding to communications promptly from the Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) are all steps you can take to help reduce the waiting periods for benefits.
Generally, your first check will arrive 21 days after your first missed day of employment. After that, you should continue to receive a check every two weeks, for as long as you remain eligible for benefits. Problems that could delay when you begin receiving benefits include:
- Mistakes in filling out your claim.
- Failure to provide required wage statements or other documents.
- Failure to provide medical records and other information documenting your condition.
- Disputes with your employer regarding how your accident or illness occurred.
Request a Consultation With Our Pasco County Workers’ Compensation Attorney
At Rooth Law Firm, our Pasco County workers’ compensation attorney is board-certified by the Florida Bar Association. This is a distinction fewer than one percent of all Florida lawyers have. For trusted legal guidance in filing a claim, call or contact us online to request a consultation today.